Surfing and Hanging Out in Torquay

Torquay, Australia. What a great place! I went there for schoolies but returned to visit a few friends this week.  Home to the surf brands Rip Curl and Billabong, this place has all the great surfing spots around.  The Rip Curl Pro, held at Bells Beach at Easter time, has the worlds greatest surfers battling it out for the title of the oldest surfing competition in the world.

Image

But if you’re not into surfing (I absolutely suck and couldn’t do it even if my life depended on it) Torquay is still a sleepy little beach town with cool cafe’s and great shopping.  It has great beaches to hang out on and empty beaches too for that bit of peace and quiet. Check out my pics! It wasn’t a great weather day but there is something so natural about and empty beach on an overcast day that I love 🙂

Image

Image

ImageI’m lucky enough to have a mate working in the Oakley store down there and managed to score myself some nicely discounted sunnies. I am a proud owner of the new Dispatch II! They’re going to be great for my trip to Vanuatu and Noumea next week (I’ll have some cool stories then!) and for some nice spring skiing turns later this year!

Image

Anyway, if you’re after a great holiday with mates or a good surf, cool place to hang out or all of the above Torquay is the place to be. Not to mention if you’re just in Australia for a visit, it would be a bit rude to skip the place where out stereotype ‘surf bum’ look started right?! 🙂

Leave a comment